NCAA Basketball Champions List – March Madness Tournament Winners Since 1939

NCAA Basketball champions list / march madness winners list since 1939, check ncaa divison 1 men's basketball tournament winning / losing team names of all time

NCAA Basketball Champions List

NCAA Basketball Champions List with year, winner and runner up names, check NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions of all time. The National Collegiate Athletic Association Men’s Basketball Tournament, also known as March Madness, is a popular annual basketball tournament in the United States. It features 68 college basketball teams from Division I schools competing for the national championship. The NCAA basketball championship tournament takes place over several weeks in March and April.

Each winning university receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made of wood. Here we are providing you the complete list of NCAA March Madness Tournament Winners of all time i.e since 1939.

Also check: College World Series winners list of all time – NCAA Baseball Champions List

List of NCAA Basketball Champions

Year Winner Teams Runner Up Teams
2023 UConn San Diego State
2022 Kansas North Carolina
2021 Baylor Gonzaga
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19
2019 Virginia Texas Tech
2018 Villanova Michigan
2017 North Carolina Gonzaga
2016 Villanova North Carolina
2015 Duke Wisconsin
2014 Connecticut Kentucky
2013 Louisville Michigan
2012 Kentucky Kansas
2011 Connecticut Butler
2010 Duke Butler
2009 North Carolina Michigan State
2008 Kansas Memphis
2007 Florida Ohio State
2006 Florida UCLA
2005 North Carolina Illinois
2004 Connecticut Georgia Tech
2003 Syracuse Kansas
2002 Maryland Indiana
2001 Duke Arizona
2000 Michigan State Florida
1999 Connecticut Duke
1998 Kentucky Utah
1997 Arizona Kentucky
1996 Kentucky Syracuse
1995 UCLA Arkansas
1994 Arkansas Duke
1993 North Carolina Michigan
1992 Duke Michigan
1991 Duke Kansas
1990 UNLV Duke
1989 Michigan Seton Hall
1988 Kansas Oklahoma
1987 Indiana Syracuse
1986 Louisville Duke
1985 Villanova Georgetown
1984 Georgetown Houston
1983 North Carolina State Houston
1982 North Carolina Georgetown
1981 Indiana North Carolina
1980 Louisville UCLA
1979 Michigan State Indiana State
1978 Kentucky Duke
1977 Marquette North Carolina
1976 Indiana Michigan
1975 UCLA Kentucky
1974 North Carolina State Marquette
1973 UCLA Memphis State
1972 UCLA Florida State
1971 UCLA Villanova
1970 UCLA Jacksonville
1969 UCLA Purdue
1968 UCLA North Carolina
1967 UCLA Dayton
1966 UTEP Kentucky
1965 UCLA Michigan
1964 UCLA Duke
1963 Loyola Chicago Cincinnati
1962 Cincinnati Ohio State
1961 Cincinnati Ohio State
1960 Ohio State California
1959 California West Virginia
1958 Kentucky Seattle
1957 North Carolina Kansas
1956 San Francisco Iowa
1955 San Francisco LaSalle
1954 La Salle Bradley
1953 Indiana Kansas
1952 Kansas St. John’s
1951 Kentucky Kansas State
1950 CCNY Bradley
1949 Kentucky Oklahoma A&M
1948 Kentucky Baylor
1947 Holy Cross Oklahoma
1946 Oklahoma A&M North Carolina
1945 Oklahoma A&M NYU
1944 Utah Dartmouth
1943 Wyoming Georgetown
1942 Stanford Dartmouth
1941 Wisconsin Washington State
1940 Indiana Kansas
1939 Oregon Ohio State

Quick Facts of March Madness Tournament Winners

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) has been the most successful college in the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Kentucky has the second-most titles i.e total 8 title win. UCLA also holds the record for the most consecutive NCAA basketball championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973.

North Carolina is third with six championships, while Connecticut, Duke and Indiana follow with five each. Connecticut is the most recent champion, having defeated San Diego State in the final of the 2023 tournament. Among head coaches, John Wooden is the all-time leader with 10 championships; he coached UCLA during their period of success in the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second all-time with five titles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *