Doak Walker Award Winners List, Preseason Watch List 2023

Doak Walker Award Winners List with winning player names of annual college football award in the US since 1990, also check preseason Doak Walker Watch List 2023

Doak Walker Award Winners List

Doak Walker Award Winners List with year, winning players names and school, check all the winners of the annual college football award since 1990. The Doak Walker Award recognizes the top running back in the United States. It is named after the legendary college football player Doak Walker, who played for Southern Methodist University (SMU) and later had a successful career in the NFL. Also check Doak Walker Watch List 2023 with names of 75 running backs to watch as contenders for the 2023 Doak Walker award.

The award was first established in 1989 and is presented by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum. It is one of several prestigious awards in college football, along with the Heisman Trophy and the Maxwell Award. The Doak Walker Award is unique in that it focuses specifically on the running back position.

The winner of the award is selected based on their performance on the field, including rushing yards, touchdowns, all-purpose yards, and other relevant statistics, as well as their leadership and sportsmanship qualities.

Also Read: Madden NFL Cover Athletes List

Doak Walker Award Winners List

Year Winner School
1990 Greg Lewis Washington
1991 Trevor Cobb Rice
1992 Garrison Hearst Georgia
1993 Byron “Bam” Morris Texas Tech
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado
1995 Eddie George Ohio State
1996 Byron Hanspard Texas Tech
1997 Ricky Williams Texas
1998 Ricky Williams Texas
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin
2000 LaDainian Tomlinson TCU
2001 Luke Staley BYU
2002 Larry Johnson Penn State
2003 Chris Perry Michigan
2004 Cedric Benson Texas
2005 Reggie Bush USC
2006 Darren McFadden Arkansas
2007 Darren McFadden Arkansas
2008 Shonn Greene Iowa
2009 Toby Gerhart Stanford
2010 LaMichael James Oregon
2011 Trent Richardson Alabama
2012 Montee Ball Wisconsin
2013 Andre Williams Boston College
2014 Melvin Gordon Wisconsin
2015 Derrick Henry Alabama
2016 D’Onta Foreman Texas
2017 Bryce Love Stanford
2018 Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin
2019 Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin
2020 Najee Harris Alabama
2021 Kenneth Walker III Michigan State
2022 Bijan Robinson Texas

Wisconsin running backs won four times in eight years from 2012 to 2019. Wisconsin and Texas are tied with the most wins with 5 a piece. Ricky Williams (Texas – 1997, 1998), Darren McFadden (Arkansas – 2006, 2007) and Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin – 2018, 2019) are the only three players to win the award more than once.

Also Read: NFL Top 100 Players of 2023

Doak Walker Watch List 2023

The names of 75 running backs to watch as contenders for the 2023 Doak Walker award has been released to the public, that list is below.

  1. Aidan Robbins, BYU
  2. Alton McCaskill, Colorado
  3. Antario Brown, NIU
  4. Audric Estime’, Notre Dame
  5. Austin Jones, USC
  6. Bhayshul Tuten, Virginia Tech
  7. Blake Corum, Michigan
  8. Braelon Allen, Wisconsin
  9. Bucky Irving, Oregon
  10. CJ Donaldson Jr., West Virginia
  11. Cam Skattebo, Arizona State
  12. Carson Steele, UCLA
  13. Chez Mellusi, Wisconsin
  14. Damien Martinez, Oregon State
  15. Daniel Hishaw Jr., Kansas
  16. Davion Ervin-Poindexter, WKU
  17. Deion Hankins, UTEP
  18. Devin Mockobee, Purdue
  19. Devin Neal, Kansas
  20. Donovan Edwards, Michigan
  21. Dontae Smith, Georgia Tech
  22. Dre’lyn Washington, Louisiana
  23. E.J. Smith, Stanford
  24. Emani Bailey, TCU
  25. Frank Peasant, Middle Tennessee
  26. George Holani, Boise State
  27. Jabari Small, Tennessee
  28. Jawhar Jordan, Louisville
  29. Jaydn Ott, California
  30. Jaylen Wright, Tennessee
  31. Jaylin Lucas, Indiana
  32. Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB
  33. Josh McCray, Illinois
  34. Josh Williams, LSU
  35. Jovantae Barnes, Oklahoma
  36. Jo’Quavious Marks, Mississippi State
  37. Justice Ellison, Wake Forest
  38. Kairee Robinson, San Jose State
  39. Kaleb Johnson, Iowa
  40. Kavosiey Smoke, Colorado
  41. Kaytron Allen, Penn State
  42. Kevorian Barnes, UTSA
  43. Kimani Vidal, Troy
  44. Kobe Johnson, Colorado State
  45. La’Damian Webb, South Alabama
  46. LeQuint Allen, Syracuse
  47. Marcus Carroll, Georgia State
  48. Marquis Crosby, Louisiana Tech
  49. Michael Wiley, Arizona
  50. Miyan Williams, Ohio State
  51. Nakia Watson, Washington State
  52. Nate Noel, App State
  53. Nicholas Singleton, Penn State
  54. Noah Cain, LSU
  55. Noah Whittington, Oregon
  56. Pat Garwo, Boston College
  57. Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
  58. RJ Harvey, UCF
  59. Raheim Sanders, Arkansas
  60. Rahjai Harris, East Carolina
  61. Rasheen Ali, Marshall
  62. Reggie Love III, Illinois
  63. Richard Reese, Baylor
  64. Rodney Hammond Jr., Pitt
  65. Roman Hemby, Maryland
  66. Samson Evans, Eastern Michigan
  67. Sieh Bangura, Ohio
  68. Sy’veon Wilkerson, Colorado
  69. Tahj Brooks, Texas Tech
  70. Tony Mathis Jr., Houston
  71. TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State
  72. Treshaun Ward, Kansas State
  73. Trey Benson, Florida State
  74. Trey Sanders, TCU
  75. Will Shipley, Clemson

Significance of Doak Walker Award

The recipient of the Doak Walker Award receives a trophy and is often recognized as one of the most outstanding players in college football that year. Winning the Doak Walker Award is considered a significant achievement for any college football running back, as it acknowledges their talent, skill, and contribution to their team’s success.

Many Doak Walker Award winners have gone on to have successful careers in the National Football League (NFL) as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *