NATO Countries List (A-Z) – Check Names of Member States in Alphabetical Order

NATO countries list (A-Z) with country name, capital, date of accession, check names of all member states of North Atlantic Treaty Organization in alphabetical order

NATO Countries List

NATO countries list with country name, capital and date of accession, check names of 31 member states of NATO in alphabetical order. North Atlantic Treaty Organization, is an intergovernmental military alliance formed for the purposes of collective defense and security cooperation among its member states. It was established on April 4, 1949, with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty, and its headquarters are located in Brussels, Belgium.

The primary goal of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of its member countries through political and military means. The organization operates on the principle of collective defense, meaning that an attack on one member is considered an attack on all, and the alliance is committed to responding collectively to such threats. There are 31 member states in NATO currently, each of which are listed here.

31 NATO Countries List 2023

Country Capital Date of Accession
Albania Tirana 1-Apr-2009
Belgium Brussels 24-Aug-1949
Bulgaria Sofia 29-Mar-2004
Canada Ottawa 24-Aug-1949
Croatia Zagreb 1-Apr-2009
Czech Republic Prague 12-Mar-1999
Denmark Copenhagen 24-Aug-1949
Estonia Tallinn 29-Mar-2004
Finland Helsinki 4-Apr-2023
France Paris 24-Aug-1949
Germany Berlin 6 May 1955 (West Germany), 3 October 1990 (Germany)
Greece Athens 18-Feb-1952
Hungary Budapest 12-Mar-1999
Iceland Reykjavík 24-Aug-1949
Italy Rome 24-Aug-1949
Latvia Riga 29-Mar-2004
Lithuania Vilnius 29-Mar-2004
Luxembourg Luxembourg 24-Aug-1949
Montenegro Podgorica 5-Jun-2017
Netherlands Amsterdam 24-Aug-1949
North Macedonia Skopje 27-Mar-2020
Norway Oslo 24-Aug-1949
Poland Warsaw 12-Mar-1999
Portugal Lisbon 24-Aug-1949
Romania Bucharest 29-Mar-2004
Slovakia Bratislava 29-Mar-2004
Slovenia Ljubljana 29-Mar-2004
Spain Madrid 30-May-1982
Türkiye Ankara 18-Feb-1952
United Kingdom London 24-Aug-1949
United States Washington, D.C. 24-Aug-1949

Salient Features of NATO

  • NATO was created by 12 countries from Europe and North America on 4 April 1949.
  • Since then, 19 more countries have joined NATO through nine rounds of enlargement (in 1952, 1955, 1982, 1999, 2004, 2009, 2017, 2020 and 2023).
  • Article 10 of the North Atlantic Treaty sets out how countries can join the Alliance. It states that membership is open to any “European State in a position to further the principles of this Treaty and to contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area”.
  • Any decision to invite a country to join the Alliance is taken by the North Atlantic Council, NATO’s principal political decision-making body, on the basis of consensus among all Allies.

12 Founding Members of NATO

The 12 founding members of NATO, who signed the North Atlantic Treaty on April 4, 1949, are:

  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

These 12 countries came together to form the North Atlantic Treaty Organization as a mutual defense alliance during the early years of the Cold War. The alliance has since expanded to include additional member states and now the number of countries in NATO has reached to 31.

Collective Defense of NATO Member States

NATO members engage in various activities to fulfill their collective defense responsibilities, including joint military exercises, sharing intelligence, coordinating defense policies, and providing mutual assistance in the event of an armed attack. NATO also engages in partnerships with non-member countries to promote security and stability.

Over the years, NATO has evolved to address new security challenges, such as terrorism, cyber threats, and non-state actors. It has also played a role in conflict resolution and peacekeeping operations in different parts of the world.

NATO member states contribute to the alliance through defense spending and cooperation, with the aim of maintaining a credible deterrent and ensuring the collective security of the member countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *