UEFA Europa League Winners List (All Time)

UEFA Europa League Winners List of all time with names of winners / runner up teams, check names of UEFA Cup / Europa league trophy winners of all seasons since 1971-72

Europa League Winners List

All time UEFA Europa league winners list with winners and runners up of each season, check countries winning the championship. The UEFA Europa League is an annual club football competition organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). It is the second-tier competition in European club football, behind the UEFA Champions League. The tournament was first established in 1971 as the UEFA Cup and was rebranded as the UEFA Europa League in 2009.

The Europa League features teams from across Europe, who qualify for the tournament based on their domestic league performance or by winning their domestic cup competitions. The competition begins with a group stage, followed by knockout rounds leading to the final. The final is typically held in May and serves as the climax of the tournament.

The winner of the UEFA Europa League earns the right to compete in the following season’s UEFA Champions League. In addition, since 2014, the winner has also been awarded the UEFA Europa League trophy, and they get the opportunity to compete against the winner of the UEFA Champions League in the UEFA Super Cup.

UEFA Europa League Winners List

The Europa League has seen several successful teams over the years, including Sevilla FC, who have won the tournament a record six times. Other notable winners include Juventus, Inter Milan, Liverpool, Manchester United, Atletico Madrid, and Chelsea. Now we are presenting you the complete list of UEFA Europa league winners of all seasons.

Two Legged Format

Season Winners (Country) Runners Up (Country)
1971–72 Tottenham Hotspur (England) Wolverhampton Wanderers (England)
1972–73 Liverpool (England) Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)
1973–74 Feyenoord (Netherlands) Tottenham Hotspur (England)
1974–75 Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany) Twente (Netherlands)
1975–76 Liverpool (England) Club Brugge (Belgium)
1976–77 Juventus (Italy) Athletic Bilbao (Spain)
1977–78 PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands) Bastia (France)
1978–79 Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany) Red Star Belgrade (Yugoslavia)
1979–80 Eintracht Frankfurt (West Germany) Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)
1980–81 Ipswich Town (England) AZ (Netherlands)
1981–82 IFK Göteborg (Sweden) Hamburger SV (West Germany)
1982–83 Anderlecht (Belgium) Benfica (Portugal)
1983–84 Tottenham Hotspur (England) Anderlecht (Belgium)
1984–85 Real Madrid (Spain) Videoton (Hungary)
1985–86 Real Madrid (Spain) 1. FC Köln (West Germany)
1986–87 IFK Göteborg (Sweden) Dundee United (Scotland)
1987–88 Bayer Leverkusen (West Germany) Espanyol (Spain)
1988–89 Napoli (Italy) VfB Stuttgart (West Germany)
1989–90 Juventus (Italy) Fiorentina (Italy)
1990–91 Inter Milan (Italy) Roma (Italy)
1991–92 Ajax (Netherlands) Torino (Italy)
1992–93 Juventus (Italy) Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
1993–94 Inter Milan (Italy) Austria Salzburg (Austria)
1994–95 Parma (Italy) Juventus (Italy)
1995–96 Bayern Munich (Germany) Bordeaux (France)
1996–97 Schalke 04 (Germany) Inter Milan (Italy)

Single Match Format

Season Winners (Country) Runners Up (Country)
1997-98 Inter Milan (Italy) Lazio (Italy)
1998-99 Parma (Italy) Marseille (France)
1999-2000 Galatasaray (Turkey) Arsenal (England)
2000-01 Liverpool (England) Deportivo Alavs (Spain)
2001-02 Feyenoord (Netherlands) Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
2002-03 Porto (Portugal) Celtic (Scotland)
2003-04 Valencia (Spain) Marseille (France)
2004-05 CSKA Moscow (Russia) Sporting CP (Portugal)
2005-06 Sevilla (Spain) Middlesbrough (England)
2006-07 Sevilla (Spain) Espanyol (Spain)
2007-08 Zenit Saint Petersburg (Russia) Rangers (Scotland)
2008-09 Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine) Werder Bremen (Germany)
2009-10 Atltico Madrid (Spain) Fulham (England)
2010-11 Porto (Portugal) Braga (Portugal)
2011-12 Atltico Madrid (Spain) Athletic Bilbao (Spain)
2012-13 Chelsea (England) Benfica (Portugal)
2013-14 Sevilla (Spain) Benfica (Portugal)
2014-15 Sevilla (Spain) Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (Ukraine)
2015-16 Sevilla (Spain) Liverpool (England)
2016-17 Manchester United (England) Ajax (Netherlands)
2017-18 Atltico Madrid (Spain) Marseille (France)
2018-19 Chelsea (England) Arsenal (England)
2019-20 Sevilla (Spain) Inter Milan (Italy)
2020-21 Villarreal (Spain) Manchester United (England)
2021-22 Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany) Rangers (Scotland)
2022-23 Sevilla (Spain) Roma (Italy)

About UEFA Europa League (UEFA Cup)

UEFA Europa League was formerly known as the UEFA Cup. It is an association football competition established in 1971 by UEFA and is considered the second most important international competition for European clubs, after the UEFA Champions League. Clubs qualify for the Europa League based on their performance in national leagues and cup competitions. For the first 25 years of the competition, the final was contested over two legs, one at each participating club’s stadium, but in 1998, Inter Milan defeated Lazio in the competition’s first single-legged final held at a neutral venue, the Parc des Princes in Paris.

Ten finals have featured teams from the same national association: Italy (1990, 1991, 1995 and 1998), Spain (2007 and 2012), England (1972 and 2019), Germany (1980) and Portugal (2011). Sevilla holds the record for the most victories, having won the competition seven times since its inception. Real Madrid (winners in 1985 and 1986) and Sevilla (winners in 2006 and 2007, and 2014, 2015 and 2016) are the only teams to have retained their title. The competition has been won fourteen times by teams from Spain, more than any other country. The last champions before the UEFA Cup was renamed to UEFA Europa League were Shakhtar Donetsk, who beat Werder Bremen 2–1 after extra time in the 2009 final. Benfica and Marseille have lost the most finals, with three losses in the competition. The current champions are Sevilla, who defeated Roma 4–1 on penalties in the 2023 final.

While the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup is considered to be the predecessor to the UEFA Cup, UEFA does not recognise the Fairs Cup as one of its official club competitions, and therefore its records are not included in the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *